Baker’s Grocery

Grocery
1926-1967

931 Park Street
Columbia, SC 29201

FAMILIES: Baker, Becker, Kligerman, Kligman

LINKS:
Learn more about the Baker family.

In 1926, Ukrainian immigrant Clara Kligerman Baker (1892-1969) opened a small grocery store in a section of the city’s Ward One neighborhood, which was densely populated with African American laborers living in shotgun-style houses. Her entrepreneurial husband, Frank (1884-1941), invented a speaker system of wires and metal plates that provided music and radio broadcasts within a four-block radius for residents who paid 25 cents per week for his unique invention. Daughter Toby recalled the store as a ‘marvelous hodgepodge- a meat market, pharmacy, grocery store, mercantile establishment and unofficial community center.’ In 1967, Clara sold her store and contents to Oscar Shealy, an African American employee of 20 years, who then continued to operate the neighborhood landmark as Baker’s Grocery until it was demolished by 1970 due to urban renewal.

Main image: Baker’s Grocery store. Image courtesy of Frank Baker

The Jewish Merchant Project is supported by the generosity of the Norman and Gerry Sue Arnold Foundation and the Stanley B. Farbstein Endowment at the Coastal Community Foundation. Longtime members of the JHSSC, Mr. Arnold obm, a merchant himself, and Mr. Farbstein obm were both children of South Carolina Jewish merchants.

JHSSC Office
Sylvia Vlosky Yaschik Jewish Studies Center
96 Wentworth Street
Charleston, SC 29424
Phone: 843 953 3918
Email: jhssc@cofc.edu